Leroy’s College Challenge Week 6

  • Week 1: 3-4
  • Week 2: 2-5
  • Week 3: 5-2
  • Week 4: 5-2
  • Week 5: 2-5

The gambling gods giveth and the gambling gods taketh away.  After going 5-2 my last two weeks and putting me on the cusp of the top 40, I crap the bed and go 2-5 for the second time in five weeks.  This is purely unacceptable.  The silver lining is I did go 2-1 on my leans.. yaaay!

Once again, most of my losses were not even close- Texas and Wyoming were simply over matched.  I knew the Iowa line was a trap, yet somehow had that one on my card, and once again, I fall victim to a 2nd half collapse with Northwestern, up 17.5 at the half (including the spread) getting outscored 28-0 in quarters 3 and 4 for me to lose.

This has been a frustrating up and down season to say the least.  I read a stat somewhere that if you would bet on the top 8 ranked teams each week, so far this year, you’d be hitting winners at an 80% clip.  That’s just nuts.  I’ve said before, I typically am a contrarian and when the public kills the books (read: Favorites and Overs), I get slaughtered.  For some reason, it’s very difficult for me to lay conference chalk knowing that I’m going with 75% of the public.

Moving onto this week, I’ve got a mixture of public plays and what I think are sharp plays.  Hopefully I can get hot as the contest still isn’t even half way over and last year, I was just over .500 before Halloween weekend hit and ended up in 5th overall.

 

My Week 6 picks are:

  • Michigan State -1.5 vs. Michigan
  • UNC -2.5 vs. Miami
  • Navy +4.5 at Rutgers
  • Virginia +7.5 vs. Georgia Tech
  • Virginia Tech -6.5 at Wake
  • East Carolina -15.5 at Memphis
  • Nevada -29.5 vs. New Mexico

 

I don’t have too many leans this week that are not already on my card.  I mean, the bettor in me wants to take Texas, Miss State & Maryland, but I’m not going to pull the trigger on any of those… OK maybe Miss State if I can get 3.5.

Until next week…

Leave a Reply

