Leroy’s College Challenge Week 5

  • Week 1: 3-4
  • Week 2: 2-5
  • Week 3: 5-2
  • Week 4: 5-2

After back to back 5-2 weeks, we’re starting to get back on track.  I said I loved Duke and would of taken off Hawaii, well both dogs won outright, so can’t get mad there.  I really had no business taking VT as I didn’t bet it or release that pick to any of my clients, but sometimes finding 7 games on a Saturday card you are confident in is tough and sometimes you just gotta take a chance.  Either way, it was still a good week.

However, before we continue, I need to point out my 2nd half meltdown of the week.  Come on down Colorado!  The Buffs somehow let WSU score 14 points in the final 2 minutes and change in the game that not only cost them a win, but cost me a 6-1 contest week (and my lunch money for the week).  But, alas, I digress.  I almost had two simultaneous collapses when GT mysteriously fumbled instead of taking a knee and allowing NC State to score 14 points in 30 seconds to only lose by 10.  Lucky for the contest, it’s all in 1/2 pt increments, so my GT -9.5 bet was safe.  My GT -10.5 “bar money” selection, however, was not.

Anyway, there’s only so much complaining I can do after going 10-4 the last two weeks, so let’s get to this week’s picks.  Interestingly enough, I loved Texas Tech +7 and up all week, but somehow didn’t include it on my card.  I actually found 10 games that I loved this week and had a hard time narrowing them down.  You will also see 6 of the 7 picks are underdogs.  That’s just the type of bettor I am. Typically from about week 4 on until Bowl Season, my card will primarily consist of underdogs.

 

My Week 5 picks are:

  • Texas +9.5 vs. Oklahoma
  • Iowa +3.5 at Penn State
  • Miami, OH +2.5 vs. Army
  • Southern Miss +2.5 at Navy
  • Northwestern +7.5 vs. Michigan
  • Missouri -3.5 at Kansas State
  • Wyoming +11.5 at Utah State

 

In case you were wondering, my leans were Maryland +13.5, Boston College +20.5 & Tech +8.5.  BC and Maryland were on my board until Leroy’s decided to undercut the key numbers (Maryland from 14 to 13.5, BC from 21 to 20.5), so I decided to lay off.  (Though as a side note I have Maryland +15 and BC +21.5 for a couple peanuts.)

Hopefully the dogs will be barking come Saturday and yes, I may have to turn to this for extra motivation.

Until next week..

Leave a Reply

